Break your ‘Writers Dam’

FutureGrimInfo

I’m very much in the mindset of ‘if you can control your negative thoughts then you can control your actions’.

A great example of this is previously I always struggled with writing in afternoons. I’d tell myself that I could only write in the morning or evenings; the afternoon was a strange time usually filled with game of thrones or chores (the former is more prevalent).

Then I looked at how I worked in a different mindset. That everything I did was self created. I wasn’t coming up against a writer’s block, but a writer’s dam. A self created construct that I can destroy whenever I feel like it.

This has empowered me to the point that I can write in a spare half an hour or even the afternoon. What was once a flaw became something I could defeat, and it made me excited to write.

I suggest next time you are faced with writer’s block is to understand that it is only a mental construct. You have the power to knock down the dam at any time if you bring enough imaginary gunpowder! (or, for the more peaceful folks, maybe have a protest to get the dam closed down? I’m sure someone could come up with a creative way to render a dam unusable).

On the topic of my book, I hit 50,000 words today! Chapter 11 is coming along nicely and I’m deciding how many more I’m looking to write.

Till next time,

Kyle

Leave a Reply

